top of page
  • EverydayMagic

Celebrating Mardi Gras with Mickey Beignets

Updated: Mar 17, 2020

Today is Mardi Gras and I thought we'd celebrate with some Mickey beignets. I chose Paula Deen's highly rated recipe for French Quarter Beignets. I halved this recipe and was able to get about 2 dozen mickey shaped beignets --more than enough for our family!


The recipe calls for mostly items I keep on hand, but I did have to purchase bread flour.


The dough came together pretty easily, if maybe a little dry?


It rose very nicely! Here it is after 3 hours.


I was also really please with how well it rolled out. I read from the comments not to over roll, so I was careful to just turn the dough out of the bowl and give it an easy roll to 1/4" thickness.


Try to place your mickeys as close together as possible. I tried re-rolling the excess and it didn't work out so well.


The dough held its Mickey shape and puffed up perfectly, with that traditional beignet "pocket" inside.


Frying even a half batch was a bit tedious, because they require constant turning. Still, I believe the results we worth it!


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page