top of page
  • EverydayMagic

Disney Store INSIDE Target?!

Last fall Target announced that it would be opening Disney stores inside 25 of its . I was so excited to learn that one was not to far from my home! It took me a while, but I finally had the chance to visit.


First off, it's really more like a really large display than it is a "store within a store." It's maybe the size of two front of the store "dollar spots," but is located much further back by the toys.


I felt the prices were on par with what you'd find at mall Disney store. The atmosphere was pretty fun, with themed backdrops, cute cardboard cut-outs hanging from the ceiling, and Disney music playing. The screen under the castle started playing the new Lion King movie at one point, and I love that it's at kid-eye level. However, by far, the best part of the store were the interactive displays. Kids could wield a lightsaber and try their hands at Elsa's magic. There are also photo spots with a crown and Mickey's sorcerer hat.


I was a bit disappointed by the selection. That whole back row is almost entirely stuffed animals. There were some children's t-shirts, but just two styles of women's tees on the day I went (no men's). There were some storybooks and also a few different mugs, in styles I've seen at the Disney store at the mall. I felt they had a nice selection of moderately priced princess dresses. Most of the items were geared toward children, which is, of course, understandable. However, it's no secret that adult Disney fans are willing to spend when it comes to unique items for themselves. Perhaps in the future they could include some home goods, pet supplies, or even just more clothing in adult sizes. In the past I've purchased Disney items designed exclusively for Target, and was much more excited about those purchases than anything I saw on this early spring visit. Unfortunately, the merchandise was just standard and had a very "Disney Store Lite" vibe.

All-in-all, I don't know that the Disney section is going to bring added foot traffic to Target, but if I had this at the store where I regularly shop, I'd definitely stop by once in a while to check if they have anything new.

20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page